Gustafson named Chair of USLAW Board of Directors


Longo, Mahaney, Umberger, Wingate named directors

USLAW NETWORK, an organization composed of more than 100 independent, defense-based law firms with more than 7,000 attorneys, has announced that C. Erik Gustafson of LeClairRyan has been named the 2014-15 USLAW NETWORK Chair. Gustafson succeeds Bradley A. Wright of Roetzel & Andress LPA, Cleveland, Ohio. The announcement was made yesterday during the organization’s annual membership meeting held in San Francisco.

erick“As I step into the role of Chair of the USLAW Board of Directors, I look forward to taking on the challenge started by Brad (Wright), our immediate past chair, in creating and now executing upon our Strategic Plan,” said Gustafson. “We will be assisting our members in growing their relationships with their fellow members as well as with the clients who have found a community in USLAW. Providing excellent services in support of our clients’ business objectives is grounded in excellent communications, teamwork and relationships. I look forward to leading a community of legal professionals focused on these fundamental principles.”

Leading a multifaceted law practice at LeClairRyan that includes corporate, business litigation and bankruptcy, Gustafson’s clients include: technology and telecommunications companies, consulting firms, federal government contractors, associations, national and regional financial institutions, and insurance companies. Gustafson has particular expertise in the technology, travel and airline industries.

Gustafson has served on the USLAW Board of Directors since 2004 and has held a variety of leadership roles, including conference chair, program chair, committee chair and vice chair before being named 2014-15 Chair of the Board.

In addition to Gustafson, USLAW also announces the 2014-15 Board of Directors, including the addition of four new Board members: Dan L. Longo, Murchison & Cumming LLP, Los Angeles, Calif.; John H. Mahaney, Huddleston Bolen LLP, Huntington, W. Va.; Rodney L. Umberger, Williams Kastner, Seattle, Wash.; and Kenneth B. Wingate, Sweeny, Wingate & Barrow, P.A., Columbia, S.C. The full leadership includes:

Executive Committee

    • Erik Gustafson, Chair, LeClairRyan, Alexandria, Va.


    • Thomas L. Oliver II, Vice Chair, Carr Allison, Birmingham, Ala.


    • Jill Robb Ackerman, Baird Holm LLP, Omaha, Neb.


    • Lew R. C. Bricker, SmithAmundsen LLC, Chicago, Ill.


    • Nicholas E. Christin, Wicker, Smith, O’Hara, McCoy & Ford, P.A., Miami, Fla.


    • John D. Cromie, Connell Foley LLP, Roseland, N.J.


    • Ami C. Dwyer, Franklin & Prokopik, PC, Baltimore, Md.


    • Neil A. Goldberg, Goldberg Segalla LLP, Buffalo, N.Y.


    • Bradley A. Wright, Immediate Past Chair , Roetzel & Andress, LPA, Cleveland, Ohio



    • Noble F. Allen, Hinckley, Allen & Snyder LLP, Hartford, Conn.


    • Kevin L. Fritz, Lashly & Baer, P.C., St. Louis, Mo.


    • Nicolas P. Jaca-Otano, Rattagan, Macchiavello, Arocena & Pena Robirosa, Buenos Aires, Argentina


    • Dan L. Longo, Murchison & Cumming LLP, Los Angeles, Calif.


    • John H. Mahaney, Huddleston Bolen LLP, Huntington, W. Va.


    • Shawn M. Raiter, Larson King, LLP, St. Paul, Minn.


    • Michael P. Sharp, Fee, Smith, Sharp & Vitullo, L.L.P., Dallas, Texas


    • Richard K. Traub, Traub, Lieberman Straus & Shrewsberry LLP, Hawthorne, N.Y.


    • Rodney L. Umberger, Williams Kastner, Seattle, Wash.


    • Kenneth B. Wingate, Sweeny, Wingate & Barrow, P.A., Columbia, S.C.


Chair Emeriti

    • John E. Hall, Jr., Hall Booth Smith, P.C., Atlanta, Ga.


    • Edward G. Hochuli, Immediate Past Chair, Jones, Skelton & Hochuli, P.L.C., Phoenix, Ariz.


    • Michael R. Sistrunk, McCranie Sistrunk Anzelmo Hardy McDaniel & Welch, LLC, New Orleans, La.


    • Sheryl J. Willert, Williams Kastner, Seattle, Wash.


Designed & Developed by Peak Seven