Noble Allen, Wendell Large named 2018 USLAW NETWORK O’Hagan Award recipients


Noble F. Allen of Hinckley Allen in Hartford, Connecticut, and the late Wendell G. Large of Richardson, Whitman, Large & Badger in Portland, Maine, have been named recipients of the 2018 USLAW NETWORK O’Hagan Award. The award is named after Jim O’Hagan, a founding member of USLAW, and is given annually by the USLAW Chair to a USLAW member(s) who demonstrates outstanding service and commitment to the organization’s guiding principles, mission and objective.

The award was presented during USLAW’s recent annual Fall Membership Meeting in Montreal.  USLAW Immediate Past Chair John D. Cromie of Connell Foley LLP in New Jersey presented the award to Allen, and Tom McKeon, Large’s law partner who accepted the award in Large’s memory; Large passed away in April.

“I am humbled to have the honor to present this award to Noble and to Wendell’s family,” said Cromie who worked with both recipients during many years of USLAW membership and USLAW Board service. “Noble and Wendell have been dedicated friends, colleagues and partners to all of us in the NETWORK, and I am pleased to recognize both of them for their important contributions to USLAW.”

Cromie on Noble Allen (pictured to the left)
“Noble raised the issue of diversity and inclusion to the Board, and he brought it to the forefront of our strategic discussions. We proudly acknowledge Noble’s commitment and vision to not only present the issue but also for being an advocate for it within the organization. Even after Noble served his tenure on the Board, he accepted my request to assume additional leadership duties and lead our Diversity Council. He was selfless as he took the lead and guided us to formally incorporate this important initiative into USLAW’s culture.”

Cromie on the late Wendell Large (pictured to the left)
“We often say USLAW Is a family. We’ve embraced that in our culture. We establish strong relationship and bonds with our colleagues from all corners of the NETWORK. Nowhere is this more true than with Wendell. He was a dedicated and generous member of our NETWORK who exemplified the finest values of our group. He was a dedicated practice group leader and committed Board member. Wendell was dedicated to his family, to his profession, to his clients and to USLAW. We dearly miss him, but know we are better for having known him and enjoyed his contributions to USLAW and his example of a life well-lived.”

O’Hagan Award recipients include:

    • 2018 – Noble F. Allen, Hinckley Allen (Connecticut); and (posthumously) Wendell G. Large of Richardson, Whitman, Large & Badger (Maine)


    • 2017 – Ami C. Dwyer


    • 2016 – Bradley A. Wright, Roetzel & Andress (Ohio)


    • 2015 – Nicholas E. Christin, Wicker Smith O’Hara McCoy & Ford P.A. (Florida); Larry A. Schechtman, SmithAmundsen LLC (Illinois)


    • 2014 – Kenneth B. Wingate, Sweeny Wingate & Barrow, P.A. (South Carolina)


    • 2013 – Sheryl J. Willert, Williams Kastner (Washington)


    • 2012 – Richard K. Traub, Traub Lieberman Straus & Shrewsberry LLP (New York); Daniel W. Gerber


    • 2011 – James J. O’Hagan; Charles F. Carr, Carr Allison (Alabama); Roger M. Yaffe, CEO of USLAW NETWORK


    • 2010 – Thomas S. Thornton, Carr Allison (Alabama)


    • 2009 – Donean Surratt


    • 2008 – Lew R.C. Bricker, SmithAmundsen (Illinois)


    • 2007 – Jeffrey L. O’Hara, Connell Foley LLP (New Jersey)


Designed & Developed by Peak Seven